Scarf week

This week is shark week on Discovery Channel.  At my house it’s scarf week.  I need to bust out a few sweaters, but scarves are fun, easy and don’t require me to inventory the stash or cast on a crapload of stitches.

Here’s one I started just before the move:
Scarf Week - Tuesday
 

Crystal Palace Taos in Mesa.  100% wool, begs to be felted in another form….I’m so happy with the colors and they show off pretty nice in a boring 2×2 rib

 The view is redeeming

I heard a rumor that when the sky is clear, you can see mountains from my balcony.  I don’t have a great view cause I’m about 1 floor too low for the really awesome views.  But sure enough Sunday morning, I was peeking out my living room window and look what I spotted over the roof of the building across the parking lot.

Had a visitor Sunday – my first to the new shack!  She had never seen a spinning wheel before and asked about mine which had been reassembled mere hours before her arrival.  So I started spinning up some fiber.  Spritely Goods Special Edition Melon Medley (merino 64s).
Fresh Spun Melon Medley
 
Such yummy colors make me think of watermelon, strawberries, cantalope and mango.  I stayed up late Sunday night spinning and plying the first bobbinful.  And I thought it might make a fun scarf as well.  So….entrelac it is because it’s been a while and doesn’t require as much thought as lace. 

Scarf Week - Tuesday 

Scarf week shall continue, hopefully ending with finished pieces!  Quite sadly I don’t think my bus trips to and from work will be very productive though.  Maybe in the morning, but in the evenings the bus is PACKED FULL.

FYI – after some phone calls and IMs with homefolk I am in a better mood this evening.  The lingering bitterness is keeping me at home tonight so I don’t alienate strangers at SnB.  Hopefully next Tuesday will work out better.  If I can get license plates on my car.

The license plate story:

Weeks before leaving AZ, I requested a copy of the electronic title for my car because I needed it to register the car in WA.  I requested said title through my lienholder, who had to request it through the state of AZ because they didn’t have any kind of hardcopy of such document.  Well, AZ has yet to produce said document.  My AZ tags expire tonight.  WA says no title no tags.  Thank god I have a bus pass.  (Dear lord baby jesus, we thank you for this bountiful harvest of cranberry blood orange tea, grilled cheese sandwich, spinach salad, and the case of lo-carb monster energy drink living in my fridge.  Please, please, please, help the state of AZ get their ass in gear and give me my blessed title to my blessed car so I might register it, get new plates, install new plate holder on the front bumper, and legally drive it.  I’m low on booze and I got a good lead on a good market for microbrews.  But it’s not on my bus route.)

2 responses to “Scarf week

  1. I’m glad things are going better–scarves and spinning must help!
    I’m so sorry for bad feng shui in your tinyass cube. Part of the reason I consent to dealing with nasty adolescents all day is to avoid cubes entirely. The downside of that comes now when Ihave AN ENTIRE ROOM to move to the other side of town.
    I hope you can find something to make your space your own.
    F’ing seriously, I can’t believe they gave you such a shitty workstation. You deserve LCD!

  2. beautiful yarn! i’d love to watch someone spin sometime! where’s the new digs?

Leave a comment